The Remington Model Five: A Review

rem-mod-52

Several years ago, Remington began importing Serbian-made .22 rimfires manufactured by Zastava. Remington, however, wasn’t the first American company to stamp their name on this Zastava rimfire. Previously, both Interarms and Charles Daly had imported the Model Five (under different names) for the American Market.

Remington did, however, give the rifle a new look by having the imported barreled-action stocked in the U.S. They chose a full-sized laminated stock with plastic buttplate and grip cap.

While I’m convinced laminate stocks offer advantages over their solid hardwood counterparts, I’ve never warmed to their appearance. This rifle was no different. In fact, I was disappointed that Remington didn’t initially offer the Model Five in walnut. In 2008, Remington did start offering a walnut stock version, although I’ve never actually handled one.

When I saw a Model Five wearing a hardwood stock (most likely beech) in a Dick’s Sporting Goods in 2006, I figured I was obligated to bring it home. It appears that Dick’s was the only dealer to initially offer this configuration. While the stock was very poorly finished, at a price of about $200 it was a perfect project rifle.

There’s a lot to like about the Model Five. It has a “big boy” centerfire feel with a very nicely blued 22″ barrel and an almost-flush fitting 5 shot magazine. All the parts on this rifle that should be solid steel are, including the floorplate and trigger guard. The finish on all metal parts is nicely polished and deeply blued – almost black in appearance.

Unlike many rimfire bolt-actions manufactured today, the Model Five is equipped with an adjustable, flip-up rear sight, and a solid ramp with blade front sight. Although most buyers will probably mount a scope using the grooved receiver, it’s nice to have the open sights as an option.

The fully adjustable, single-stage trigger, which had terrible creep out of the box, actually turned out nicely after some work. It certainly doesn’t break like glass, but by adjusting the sear I was able to eliminate most creep. For a budget rifle, I’m pleased with how it functions now. There’s a possibility a good gunsmith (which I am not) might be able to squeeze even more from it.

The hardwood stock of my Model Five left a lot to be desired. With average checkering and numerous runs in the finish, I made a refinish job my top priority. After stripping and sanding the original finish from the rifle, I used the Birchwood Casey Tru-oil Finish Kit to refinish the stock with good results.

From an accuracy standpoint, I was pleasantly surprised. While not a tack-driver, my example is accurate with a variety of ammunition, including most offerings from Federal, CCI and Winchester. I’ve consistently averaged 0.75″ 5-shot groups at 50 yards since the rifle was purchased over two years ago, making the Model Five an excellent plinking and small game gun.

After 2 ½ years and a couple thousand rounds, I’m happy with the Model Five. It’s a rifle I can throw in the back of my Jeep for a day in the backcountry and not worry about dinging or denting.  I’d recommend this rifle to anyone with only one caveat: price.

As of January 2009, Remington lists the MSRP of the laminate version of the Model Five at $349 and the European walnut version at $279. In my opinion, this is just too much for the Model Five. At this price point, Remington has stiff competition with some excellent rifles offered by CZ and Savage.  Using gunbroker.com as a reference, it appears the laminate version is actually selling in the high $200′s, with the walnut in the mid-$200 range.

At the prices closer to $200, it’s definitely worth pulling the trigger on the Model Five.

© Copyright 2009 by the Western Rifleman. All rights reserved.

Published in: on January 18, 2009 at 8:07 pm  Comments (21)  
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://westernrifleman.wordpress.com/2009/01/18/remington-model-five/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

21 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I have this rifle and love it. With remington thunder bolts I get from 1/4 inch to 1/2 inch all the time at 50 yards. I have a leupold rimfire 2-7x. Buy it you will love it.

  2. Glad to hear, Nick. I also have a Leupold Rimfire scope on my Model Five, although mine is the fixed 4x version. The Leupold Rimfire is an excellent choice for this rifle because the objective is small and the scope length is minimal compared to other rimfire models. This allows the Leupold scope to be mounted low and clear the flip-up rear sight of the Model Five. Thanks for reading, TWR

  3. I bought one of these rifles as my first gun just over 8 months ago. I think its a good looking rifle and shoots pretty well too, at my level.

    I found this review really good and was particularly interested in the trigger creep issues as mine too suffers from this problem. I have also noticed the magazine does not seat as reliably as i would like and the release button is a little rattly.

    Any suggestions of how i could correct these problems via a gunsmith would be appreciated.
    Rob.

  4. I’m glad you enjoyed the review, Rob. After personally adjusting the trigger on my rifle, there is no question a competent gunsmith would be able to quickly and easily eliminate most of the creep from the trigger of your rifle. The Model Five has a very simple, fully adjustable, single-stage trigger that any gunsmith should be able to tune for a minor fee. If he wants a lot of money to adjust this trigger, find a different gunsmith!

    In regards to the magazine release button: have you removed the barreled action from the stock? The button is entirely separate from the action and may not be seated properly in the stock. It’s also possible the screws holding the stock to the action may need to be tightened. I would remove the stock and look things over (be sure to take note of how the button fits to the action). While you have the stock off, I’d clean and apply a light coat of oil to the entire action and then reassemble with the button in the proper position. Make sure the action screws are tight. I can tell you that, while my release button is loose, it doesn’t make an audible rattling noise.

    Hope that helps and thanks for reading – TWR

  5. Hey – got a question.

    I’ve been debating getting another rifle – and we’re probably looking at Remington 700 or … something else. Say a Weatherby Vanguard.

    Any chance you could do a compare/contrast?

    Cheers

  6. Thanks again for reading Astronomy Guy. Unfortunatley, I don’t own a Weatherby Vanguard so I’d have a difficult time giving a good user review and comparison of the Vanguard line. I can tell you I’ve handled numerous Weatherby rifles including the Vanguard and they are very well put together. The Vanguard is manufactured in Japan where they’ve built an excellent reputation for quality, well-finished rifles (think Browning and Winchester, who manufacture rifles in Japan as well).

    As for the Remington 700, there are probably millions of Americans that would lean in this direction. I currently own a model 700 and I’m very familar with the vast line of model 700 rifles. If I were to buy a new model 700, I’d most definitely purchase a 700 CDL (classic deluxe). It’s a beautiful American sporter with classic lines and a nicely figured stock – unfortunately, it’s priced well above most of the Vanguard line of rifles so I’m not sure it would be a good comparison.

    I may be able to give you a better comparison or recommendation if I knew exactly what you’re looking for. What will you be using the new rifle for? If it’s for hunting, what kind of terrain do you normally hunt?

    Thanks for reading and good luck – TWR

  7. I/we (my wife and I) presently own two Remington Model Fives (Made in Serbia). Hers is a youth model .22LR and mine is a .22 mag. Hers is kinda plain Jane, but shoots 1/2-inch groups at 50 yards with everything we’ve fed through it. Mind you – the barrel (and overall size) is much smaller than the full-size version. Mine is much nicer. I’m going to buy a .22LR version of the nicer (Chekered) version from Cabelas tomorrow. It’s $199.99 here in Lacey, Washington.

    My .22 mag IS a tack driver. This is what I’ve dreamed of for many years. My magnum version shoots 5-shot groups at 50 yards that can be covered by a quarter all day long. OK – not every time, but I’m going to attribute that to the human factor until I’m convinced otherwise. I have an RWS (pellet gun) scope mounted and I’m going to get another one (or two). One will be mounted on the new .22 LR for sure. It has parallax correction. I’m not sure how effective it is, but it works on my .22 RWS pellet gun and it works on the .22 mag Remington, so I’m guessing it’ll be just as good on the .22LR. For those of you who don’t already know it, the pellet gun scopes have to deal with bi-directional recoil. I wouldn’t use one on a .30-06, but it seems to work well on .22 rimfire.

    As for the Weatherby, I have some experience that I can share with you. I had (stolen some years ago) a Weatherby Vangard .22-250 with a Simmons (AO)scope that I used to use in Maine when I lived out there. I like being in the woods and like carrying a gun. If I get a presentable target, I may or may not take the shot. I’ve sat and sipped coffee and watched beavers do their thing for hours and watched a dozen big does walk right in fromt of me (not deer season – LOL) – never took a shot. The one day I remember the best is a cool fall afternoon when I got home from work early and went out into the woods. I had the Weatherby .22-250 and wasn’t really counting on anything. All of the sudden the biggest gray squirrel I ever saw hopped up on a stump about 80-90 yards in front of me (the rifle was zeroed at 100 yards). Apparently he/she didn’t see me as I leaned up against a tree to steady the rifle. I was looking for a 90-yard head shop with Remington factory 55-grain spire point. I’m relaxed and there’s hardly any wind at all. As I ease off the safety and take care to aim for the eye, the round goes off. I’m watching it through the scope and to my disbeleif – nothing! Nothing!? What? How could I miss?

    I walked up to the stump and there, behind it, lays a squirrel tail. I am not kidding. I’ve told this story 100+ times and I know some people will not believe it, but it’s absolutely true. I kept that tail for a few weeks until I ran into a friend who said he could use it for fly tying. I gave it to him.
    Some years later I was sharing this story with my son who said that he had done nearly the same thing in Wisconsin and still had the squirrel tail. Unbelievable? Maybe, but I saw the tail, so I’m going to believe him. What are the odds?

    At the range, the .22-250 is a joy to shoot. I cannot find a fault with the Weatherby Vangard. I regularly shot 1-1/2 groups (or less) at 100 yards. That’s good enough for me.

    I also have a Weatherby Vangard (VGX) 7mm Remington magnum. While it’s not as fun (or inexpensive to shoot), it is amazingly accurate. I have shot many 250-300-yard 3-1/2 to 4-inch groups(from a bench). Again – I attribute the size to my (human) fault. I think that if had the right ammo and shot from a bench it could do better.

    I wouldn’t hesitate to (and plan to) buy another Weatherby Vangard. One of these days (when I win the lottery) I’ll have a whole cabinet full of them.

    Also – while on the subject, I have had really good results with the Leupold scopes. I have one on the 7mm, my .243 Remington Mountain RIfle and wouldn’t hesitate to put one on any high-power rifle.
    Next up…………..a really nice .223 bolt-action. OK It’s a ways off, but it’s on my wish list.

    Anyone wanna start a thread on the Ruger Model 1?

  8. Getting back to this model 5 trigger, has anybody
    compared the mechensim to the CZ452 models? if what I read here in this forum is accurate the triggers sound
    as if they are very similar in construction. If this
    is the case there are options that are used on the 452
    that may be applied to the model 5. does anybody have
    any pics of the model 5 trigger mechanism? If so
    could you post them and we can see if there is any
    “simple” fixes that can be applied the way there are
    for the CZ452. Doug

  9. Thanks for reading, Doug. I have posted a reply to your question in the CZ Forum on Rimfire Central. You can find the response and a link to another thread with a photograh of the Model 5 trigger mechanism here:

    http://rimfirecentral.com/forums/showthread.php?p=2784606&posted=1#post2784606

    I hope this helps. Thanks for reading – TWR.

  10. I got the remington model 5 for christmas last year and I love it. It is real fun to shoot and I would recommend it to anyone that wants to have some fun shooting and still have an accurate weapon.

  11. I bought one of these last year at cabelas. The gun looked great. I thought this was a bargain at $190.00 until I tried to chamber a round. The round bound up as I pushed the bolt forward. This came with two clips. One clip would not let one round slide out of the clip and into the chamber and the other one I had to put alot of force to achieve one round chambered. Remington wanted me to send the gun back for a couple of bad clips. I had a gun smith work on both clips before I could shoot it.Now I still have to be gentle sliding the rounds into the chamber it’s still a little rough.

  12. Also I can’t find any clips for this model 5 .22 any where.

  13. Thanks for reading, Mike. Sorry to hear about your experience with the Model Five. Both the magazines I have worked perfectly with the rifle when I purchased it. Here is a link to a magazine on gunbroker.com. Better hurry, looks like they are definitely discontinued! Good luck, TWR.

    http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=162252196

  14. I’ve had pretty much the same experiences with mine: creepy trigger, rattling clip, etc. Also, the spring in the clip seems very strong, and if I load 5 rounds, the first one won’t chamber at all because it’s under so much spring pressure, the bullet pops up and misses the chamber. It works OK if I only load 4 rounds in it. Other than these usual problems, I like the rifle and it shoots great.

  15. Regarding Model Five magazines: Try Natchez Shooters
    Supplies, Chattanooga, TN 1-800-251-7839

    Mag Clip Five*.22 LR, 5 shot, #F04RT19665, on sale until July 31, 2010, $15.99 ea.

  16. I own a Model Five and am very happy with the rifle and its performance at the range. It is very accurate at 50 yards, and has given me flawless performance. This rifle’s overall value and performance has caused me to consider the 798 centerfire offering, which would have been out of the question prior to using this rifle.

  17. This rifle is/was sold under several brands including USSG Z5. You can beat the Remington price tag.

  18. I’ve read several dozen reviews on the EAA USSG ZASTAVA Z5 22LR and 22WMR bolt action rifles. Hard pressed to find any negative reviews. I started reading reviews when I began looking for a new 22 WMR.
    Problem is, I can’t find these in Las Vegas (Nevada)and I’m reluctant to buy on line except from a well known seller like Buds Gun Shop…they must be good sellers, I can’t find one but I’m on a couple of “notify me when they are available lists.”

  19. I recently ordered a USSG/EAA/Zastava Z5 489907 22WMR, wood stock, blue metal. I have a two Barska AO air gun scopes and 3/8″ rings for it. I’m not expecting more accuracy than I get from my Marlin Model 60 22LR but the price was right and I want the 22WMR, $238 delivered to local FFL dealer. My major complaint about the advertising on this rifle is that the piece comes with Turkish walnut stock but all the ad photos show the laminated Remington 5 stock; kind of misleading.

  20. Magazines for Remington Model 5 available from Midwest Gun Works $21.50 + $7.50 USPS mail. Magazines for USSG/EAA/ZASTAVA Z5 22wmr available from EAA USSG $35 for one, $25 each for two or more (plus s&H). Seems that the Zastava Z5, Remington 5, and Charles Daly Superior 2 are the same rifle.
    Can any confirm that the magazines are interchangeable or that they are not interchangeable? Please reply to wyo@inbox.com thanks

  21. Thought I was the only one to have a hard/creepy trigger and a sticky/hard to seat clip!

    I bought the Youth model with the 16.5″ barrel and then put a full size laminated stock on it. I found the stock on E-Bay of all places. With the short barrel and “adult” stock It makes for a great shooting, compact field/survival gun.

    When I switched stocks, I found that there was some rust on the under side of the action and that one of the two stock/action securing bolts was not engaged – it was just flopping around inside the stock!! The holes for the bolts – on both stocks – was off by over an 1/8″!!!

    I put a 2-3/4″ power shotgun scope on it and it shot very well, taking a gopher at 96-yards. I really liked the looks of the gun as it had a very European/stalking rifle look to it with the very short scope.

    I then went to a Leuopold 1-x 4 scope and it shot even better. Shooting from a “leaning on the car roof” position, it would group 5-shots the size of a dime at 25-yards. This easily met my standard of accuracy for it’s use as a survial gun.

    UPS managed to destroy the scope when I mailed the rifle home – they broke the tube in half! This was through 3 layers of bubble wrap and 2 cardboard boxes! Leupold couldn’t fix it so they gave me a new scope. Tremedously wonderful people at Leupold.

    I have changed scopes again and now have the Leuopold rimfire 2 x 7 scope on it. I am not as happy as to how the rifle now looks, but with “old eyes” the extra magnification is really nice – and the gun still looks OK. Haven’t shot it since this change, but the sight picture is great when the scope is set at 7x!

    I liked the look of the laminated stock (much more so than the factory birch one), but it is very heavy compared to the natural wood stock – probably a full pound heavier. I’ve thought about drilling a couple of holes into the butt to lighten the stock, but have never got around to doing it.

    Finding spare clips was a nightmare but I did eventually find them on Gunbroker – although they were expensive.

    Overall I really like the gun and it shoots very well for having the short barrel.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

